Blade the Destroyer Book Review

Bucelarii - Copy

Amazon

Blade the Destroyer: The Last Bucelarii Book I (Volume 1)
Andy Peloquin

Book Synopsis:

The Hunter of Voramis is the perfect assassin:

Ruthless, Unrelenting, Immortal.

Yet he is haunted by lost memories, bonded to a cursed dagger that feeds him power yet denies him peace of mind. Within him rages an unquenchable need for blood and death.

When he accepts a contract to avenge the stolen innocence of a girl, the Hunter becomes the prey. The death of a seemingly random target sends him hurtling toward destruction, yet could his path also lead to the truth of his buried past?

My Review:
Five Stars

Blade the Destroyer is a gruesome tale of how we all fall into what society makes us out to be. The Hunter was made out to be a vile, murderous being and he fit that description well. But there was always that sense that he was lacking something. That a part of him longed for something more out of the existence he called his life. Like most, The Hunter wasn’t satisfied with the course his life had taken. And for someone that is immortal it’s hard to change something that you’ve always ever known to do.

The Hunter is one of these characters that you find yourself confused about how you feel about him. One minute you absolutely hate him, then you see his humility and you love him, then it goes right back to dislike. My feelings for The Hunter changed often while reading Blade the Destroyer. But in the end I had a newfound love for The Hunter and really hoped he figured it all out. It’s not very fun going through life not knowing who you are and ultimately feeling alone along the way.

I will admit that some parts of Blade the Destroyer really grossed me out. There’s quite a lot of violence that goes on, some vengeful other’s just ruthless killing. The violent scenes are done flawlessly and you can tell that Andy really did his research when it came down to it.

My heart ached for The Hunter in the end when he was in the situation that he was. And so I don’t give anything away I won’t say what that was. But my heart broke for him and this is really when my love for The Hunter came racing back in. Every ounce of me hated The Dark Hierarchs and The Bloody Hand. Every ounce of me was yelling the last few chapters because of what occurred in their brutal pages.

The Hunter may have made a lot of mistakes but in the end it seems he gets a chance to start anew and figure out who/what he really is. He gets a chance to start over and I think his reaction to it all makes him appear more human than animal. He gets a second chance and in the end we all deserve that.

I can’t wait for the next installment of this amazing series. Keep up the brilliant writing Andy.

One thought on “Blade the Destroyer Book Review”

Leave a comment