Review of Spectral Tales

5190BZPEYOL._SY346_

Amazon

Blurb:

Whether they are spirits of the departed or figments of an overactive imagination, ghosts are a staple in fiction. Storytellers have portrayed ghosts as scary, friendly, or annoying across many genres. Now, eight authors offer their own interpretations of ghosts through a collection of short stories that will appeal to fans of horror, fantasy, or young adult fiction.

My Review:

Five Stars

Spectral Tales featured a lot of enticing stories that left you craving the next ghostly tale. And each tale was different than the next, and left you not knowing what to really expect. Actually, I didn’t know what to expect at all from most of the stories because I went in thinking most of the stories would revolve solely around ghosts, and though most had elements of ghosts the stories didn’t solely focus on that. And even than the stories didn’t deal solely on the dead haunting the living either. Some stories dealt with the dead being trapped in their own bodies, trying to figure out what happened, some stories featured those trying to find lost parents.
But I’d have to say out of all seven stories in this collection my favorite was Farwell Ohana. This tale was just so different and put a spin on the supernatural that I’d never thought of before. Without giving too much of this amazing story away, I’ll just say that the characters in this tale, have powers that outcast them from society. They break free from their bonds and one of them wishes to speak to her deceased parents by speaking with the Night Marchers. And this is where the part that I never thought of occurs, the Night Marchers are awesome supernatural beings that I don’t want to say what they actually do because I don’t want to give away too much of the story- so I highly recommend everyone going to read it to find out what I’m talking about.
I’m a big supernatural buff and quite enjoy reading books that revolve around the supernatural realm, and oftentimes a lot of the stories seem so farfetched that you can’t get wrapped up in them. I didn’t have that issue with any of the stories in this collection. I was swopped into them quickly and they all held some actual realism as to what happens with paranormal activity. And rather than this realism feeling fake and pushed it felt wholesome, and for the goosebumps I’m grateful. And I look forward to reading more tantalizing tales from these brilliant writers in the future, because they all have such a way with words.

Leave a Reply

