Childhood Memories

I have quite a few early memories of my childhood, even though studies show we forget things from before the age of three years old. I remember parts of my three year old childhood, but not enough coherently enough. And I have lots of early fond memories so it’s hard to choose just one. So rather I will pick a memory I love and go with it.

When I was about five I woke up on Christmas morning like every kid does- eager to see what Santa brought the night before. I darted to my parents room at around six in the morning because I was an early riser on Christmas. And I don’t know how I missed what was under the tree when I ran to my parents room but I missed it. I was a kid and didn’t pay much attention when I was half asleep.

My parents up sluggishly walked to the living room and sat down on the couch and I believe my dad may have sat in the floor. I flopped onto the floor and opened presents as my dad handed me them. Now in my family we have this tradition of getting gifts not only from Santa but sometimes Rudolph will leave something under the tree too. Because I didn’t just leave treats for Santa, I left treats for his reindeer too.

I’d opened all my presents, or at least the wrapped ones but my dad said I had one more. I’m not sure if he left the room and came back or if it was in the room the whole time, that I don’t recall. What I recall was next a black Labrador retriever puppy in my lap. I can only imagine me crying, because I can’t remember my reaction now, but I remember I was so happy to get a puppy and name her Playful.

That puppy was my best friend, and I didn’t have very many friends at the time either. So I finally had a puppy, and I was extremely happy. Though I’m not sure if I asked for a puppy or not for Christmas, I’m sure I did, I just don’t recall that bit of information now that I’m an adult.

I wish I could say Playful made it to my adult years but sadly she passed away when I was around about sixteen. My heart broke the day she died because I’d lost not only my best friend but also a dear family member. But getting her that Christmas day when I was five years old was probably one of the best days of my childhood life and I enjoyed being able to grow up with my dog.

Leave a Reply

