Insanity (Mad in Wonderland) Book Review

51gtGxPjdtL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Amazon

Blurb:

After accidentally killing everyone in her class, Alice Wonder becomes a patient in the Radcliffe Lunatic Asylum. No one doubts her insanity. All but a hookah-smoking professor named Carter Pillar who believes he can prove her sanity by decoding Lewis Carroll’s paintings, photographs, and finding Wonderland’s real whereabouts.
Professor Caterpillar persuades the asylum that Alice can save lives and catch the Wonderland Monsters now reincarnated in modern day criminals. In order to do so, Alice leads a double life: an Oxford university student by day, a mad girl in an asylum by night. The line between sanity and insanity thins when she meets Jack Diamond, an arrogant college student who believes that nonsense is an actual science.

Larger than life characters, intricate mysteries, engrossing fun, and intriguing historical locations. Insanity will thrill you, makes turns pages, and stay with you forever.
Warning: intended for insane audience only

My Review:

Five Stars

I love everything Alice in Wonderland and was excited when a friend told me that I needed to read this book. And I’m really glad she told me to read it and now I’m hooked on Insanity and Cameron Jace’s Wonderland that he’s painted. He left me craving more of the story and made me feel like I was really transported into his insane world of Wonderland monsters.

I’d never thought to view Alice as an insane person that imagined all of Wonderland. I’d always thought that it was a young girl who really experienced Wonderland and that no one believed her. But in Insanity, Wonderland is a real place that has been sealed up tight by Lewis Carroll. Though some of the Wonderland folks inhabit the real world.

We first meet Alice in the insane asylum and we see her try and escape the asylum to get out into the world. She fails in her escape. This is the first time you’re exposed to the White Rabbit, and it’s where you see Alice battle with whether she’s sane or not. She desperately wants to be sane and to believe that Wonderland isn’t real. But it feels like a part of her really knows that Wonderland is real, but she wants to be free that she’s allowing herself to forget.

We meet the Caterpillar and he’s a serial killer in Insanity. Which is actually fitting for him. He always has his hookah, and it’s his weapon of choice when it comes to fighting the Wonderland monsters.

Then there is the Cheshire cat. The Cheshire cat has always been my favorite character in Alice in Wonderland, but not so much in Insanity. He’s portrayed as something evil, and in Alice in Wonderland he wasn’t too much of a good guy but I never had nightmares that he was chasing me. And if a book can infiltrate my dreams it’s a pretty amazing book.

I can’t wait to read the next book in this series and have recommended it to all of my friends. Jace sure knows how to write an amazing Alice spin-off and he did it flawlessly.

One thought on “Insanity (Mad in Wonderland) Book Review”

Leave a Reply

