The Fault in our Stars Book Review

download (2)

Amazon

Synopsis:

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars brilliantly explores the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.

My Review:

I absolutely loved this book. Augustus is by far one of my favorite male characters of the books I’ve read this year. He is such a solid character that it pained me to get through the last five chapters of this book. I knew what was going to happen, since I watched the movie prior. I was actually too afraid to read the book because I didn’t want to cry. But, I decided to read it none-the-less.

Hazel goes through Hell. She is diagnosed with cancer and battles it throughout the novel. Then she meets Gus and things seem to look up for her. She falls in love and it’s beautiful. The love she and Gus share if a flawless kind of love that we all hope to find one day in this crazy world. We all want a little piece of infinity. Sadly, her love story doesn’t run on like we all want our love stories to run. Her’s is short-lived. And not because of a break-up but because of a death. Which I think is the hardest part. We all know that sooner or later our loved one’s will pass, it’s inevitable. But, reading that the love of a teen’s life passes away at such a young age is devastating.

I have no idea how I would react if I was in Hazel’s shoes. I’d be completely lost without my husband. I wouldn’t go through the motions like she did. I’d be a lot more depressed and angrier. But she managed ‘well’ for someone going through this tragedy of love and loss. She handled it like she was an adult.

I cried the last five chapters, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t. These two became a part of my day. I’d read their story and go about my daily routine. And now their story has ended and it feels like a part of me is missing. It was a pleasure to enjoy a little infinity while reading this amazing novel. And I am hopeful to read other John Green novels, even though I strongly suspect that they will all make me cry in the end.

2 thoughts on “The Fault in our Stars Book Review”

Leave a Reply

