Poem for my Sister

That little white bear,
the bear that is a constant reminder.
A constant pain in my heart,
because I know you are not here with us.

The bear that was given to me,
on that dreadful day.
The day we laid you in the ground.
The day we cried for hours.
The day that we had to realize what had happened,
that it wasn’t just a nightmare.

I wish I had you here,
instead of a small, white bear that holds a pink heart.
Instead of clinging to it, I wish I could hug you.
I wish you were not taken from us.
Every ounce of me wishes you were here.

But I know you had a higher purpose,
and were needed for something greater.
So I await the day I get to see you again.
I love you sissy.

Leave a Reply

